723 Court Street
Soon after the unexpected death of her husband, Elizabeth MacNeal Wright purchased Lot No. 9 in Maryville’s Stanley Addition in 1941 and construction commenced on a unique home that she and her daughter, Nathalia, designed. It was completed in 1942. For fascinating information click here.
613 Court Street
Known as the Corona this house was sold as a kit in the Sears & Roebuck catalogue between 1915 and 1922. It was part of the selection known as “Honor Built” which were the most expensive and finest quality homes sold by Sears. Click here for more information.
915 Court Street
This rancher was built in 1960 with only 4 owners. The first owner, Dr. Howell, was a professor at Maryville College.
919 Court Street
Built in 1915, this 1 ½ story Craftsman-style Bungalow directly faces the Maryville College football field and gymnasium, which are named in honor of the coaches – Lombe Honaker and Boydson Baird- who resided in the house 1921-1959 and 1959-2002, respectively. To learn more about the home click here.
903 Court Street
This lovely neo-classical style home was built in 1920 by Mr. and Mrs. Dunn. Mr. Dunn was a Maryville lawyer and Mary B. Dunn was the Maryville post office post mistress. Alice and Norris Counts bought the house from Mr. and Mrs. Dunn’s son, Charles Eugene Dunn and his wife Ellen in 1966. Other owners were Walter Wallace and Pope Cox, a builder. For a short time it was turned into a bed and breakfast.
The front porch is topped with Doric order capitals and a Vincenzo Scamozzi design. The Neoclassical Revival style is defined by a commanding facade with a full height porch, its roof supported by classical columns. The columns are often fluted and the capitals are usually ornate Ionic or Corinthian. Like the Colonial Revival, which is comparatively simple, the Neoclassical Revival is also symmetrical with its entry centered and flanked by a balanced array of windows.
This 3,772 square foot home features rich hardwood floors and 9ft ceilings thru out, 2 large parlor rooms with sliding parlor doors, 3 of the 4 bedrooms feature a fireplace with 6 total, bathrooms have old claw foot bathtubs, full length of home covered front porch, with smaller upstairs covered balcony. Nice hardwood stairs and banisters in main foyer. Full basement, carport and detached garage with a gazebo.
603 Court Street
Constructed in 1925, this beautiful bungalow was originally built for Ernest Ames who was vice-president of First National Bank of Maryville and was also once the home of Maryville’s mayor, Tom Taylor. When it was built this beautiful craftsman style home could be ordered from a Montgomery-Ward catalogue.
Many of the house’s original details are still apparent such as original leaded glass around the front door along with doorbell and letter box opening to the inside of house. Pocket doors separate the living room from the dining room. The fireplace and mirror are original as well as wall sconces and leaded glass on the bookcase. This home contains original hardwood floors on both floors. In addition, it has a unique metal roof with raised surfaces to divert rainwater. During the Depression, Maryville College owned the home and rented it out to college professors. The home has been sold several times over the years. The McTyres purchased it in 2006. A unique story is that one of the college professors bought a monkey when his wife was out of town and kept it upstairs because she rarely was up there.
The address was first known as 600 Court Street until the homes were renumbered.
503 Court Street
Built in 1910, this impressive 4,400 sq. ft. home sits high at the beginning of Court Street’s residential area. A Queen-Anne style, the house is a two-story frame, four bay, asymmetrical plan on a brick foundation. On the main east and north façade is a wrap-around one-story porch. The porch has original milled columns and brackets. For more information click here.
1103 Court Street
residence built in 1919 has many features which were characteristic of the time. The house seems to recall the more ornate Italianate Victorian but follows more closely the faced-wide-gable form of the Queen Anne Victorian. The wide veranda, with the original decorative woodwork, wraps from the front to the side. The solid glass entrance door is flanked by side windows and shingle glass lights. The decorative detailing common in Queen Anne style is not exhibited in this residence but is distinguished by its principle shape. The bracketed cornices, raised columns and lacy column brackets are typical of the style and these original features still adorn this house. The gracious foyer opens on the right to the front parlors, which can be closed by the original pocket doors, is the dining room with the original light fixture and built in China cabinet. This house originally had four bedrooms but recent owners combined three of them into one grand master suite. This home may have been a kit home ordered from a catalogue.