127 Wilson Avenue
This Craftsman farmhouse style home was built around the turn of the century. It is the first home, in the College Hill District, to be completely remodeled in under the guidelines under the Historic District Zoning Commission. The McArthur’s commitment to maintaing historic integrity of this neighborhood is evident in every detail. The restoration of th old, the addition of the new, the wrap-around porch and porte cochere were all hand-crafted in order to appear original. The original barn used to house a fresh cow, Rhode Island Red chickens, a horse, and a carriage. In Fred’s life it housed chickens, rabbits, ponies and a childhood dream to rebuild his childhood playhouse and is styled after the original structure from the early 1900’s. The home has been in Fred’s family for four generations which include his great-grandmother Alida Snodgrass, grandparents Fred “Grandy” Proffitt and Estelle “Ma” Proffitt, and mother Grace Proffitt McArthur who was born in the home almost 100 years ago.
120 Wilson Avenue
This frame cottage was built in 1910 and retains many of the original architectural features. These include the trim, moldings, and support brackets across the front gable. The cottage was the home to the Traylor family for over 60 years beginning in 1934 when it was purchased for $1200 on the steps of the Blount County Courthouse. Many updates and modifications have been made over the years but has sought to unify the design elements. This home boasts the first bomb shelter built in Blount County.
114 Wilson Avenue
J.S. Jones, a busy contractor in Maryville, built this house for Charley Tedford in 1910. It contained two rooms on each of the two floors and four fireplaces with a chimney on each of the four sides of the house. The installation of French doors was very innovative at this time and was a unique feature of this house. Wilson Avenue, at the time, was a gravel lane, and paving came many years later. Click here for more of the story.